Wiccan Friend

Just your friendly neighborhood Witch. Thoughts on Wicca, Witchcraft, Tarot, and Paganism today.

Why are you Pagan?

It is funny, I have had the wordpress iphone app for a while now. I use it often to right down ideas for future post as drafts as a kind of reminder for when I log on later. For the life of me I don’t think I have ever used it for a post. Honestly it doesn’t make the best writing tool and seeing your post to adjust spacing, picture size, and placement are awkard at best. I find myself however sleepless in bed and willing to give it a try. I will probably still save the picture posting for later. I always try to incorperate some kind of visual stimuli to give the eyes a break from text.
So I got the idea for this post from a podcast I was recently listening to. The host ask the same question and my initial reaction was this. Often times I think we believe in something and never sit down to really ask ourselves why. Understandably it is something that may be formed along the way, but I think it is important to at some point re-evaluate our choices and ask these simple questions. I don’t know who said this, I think maybe Einstein, “The simpliest questions often have the most complex answers.”
Why are you a Pagan? I would love to hear from the readers on this. I get a fairly steady flow of views a day so maybe I can get a good discussion started here. Alternatively, if you are reading this and are not Pagan have no fear, simply post why you choose to believe what you do. I promise to do away with any flamers and haters. I feel this place not only to be safe but positive. Please I ask of you to please dig deep and really explore your own personal reasons.
For me, it simply started out as a disagreement with the belief system I grew up in. Over time that developed into other things. Paganism really allowed me to worship the things that in my heart I knew was true. In my love for nature I saw clearly the duality of life with both masculine and feminine characteristics. Additionally, I had seen and experienced things that were not welcomed as truths in the Christian world. Trees had personality and heart, different parts of the forrest had different personalities. Some of those were menacing and others warm and inviting. I even believed strongly in a personal power. I didn’t fully understand as a kid but I knew my will and intent were important to me. All of that lead me to quest out side of what I knew to seek what made more sense.

What about you? Why?

3 responses to “Why are you Pagan?

  1. Renny February 10, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    Why am I Pagan? Hmm…it’s really a deep question. Simply, I’m a Pagan because at an early age I knew the religion I was raised in wasn’t a good fit for me and after years of study and questioning I came to the conclusion the Paganism was the best fit for me. Some thing in particular that originally attracted me to Paganism: “Pagan” is a very broad term and is very flexible, it leaves much room for growth and development. For example, when I first set off on this Pagan path, the subclass (label) I identified with was Witch and that worked for a long time, but now I am working toward being initiated into Wicca and then I will additionally have the label of Wiccan. Paganism moves and grows with you on your spiritual journey and allows the room to personalize it for yourself. And that sort of freedom was and is very attractive to me. There are other reasons I find myself where I am now, but it’s the one that comes to mind tonight.

    Thanks for your blogs, I enjoy reading them 🙂

  2. City Wiccan August 26, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    I just found your blog and thought this was the appropriate place to make my presence known 🙂 I’m apprecaiting the intellegence of your posts.

    Why am I Pagan? Because all the values that I grew up with, learned from my parents, learned through my lived experience aligns with Paganism/Wicca. I tried to mash it into liberal Christianity or Buddhism . . . or some combination of the both . . . but truly my love of nature, respect for animals, longing for the feminine divine, understanding of the paranormal, acceptance of the fact I’m an empath can only come through Paganism or Wicca. It’s not that I was looking for a label but when I started to honour these aspects of myself and search for deeper answers I realized that this was the community that I wanted to be part of . . . and interestingly, this knowledge had been around for a very long time 🙂

    • Wiccan Friend August 27, 2010 at 6:00 pm

      First, welcome to the site and thanks for your kind words. Moving on, thanks for sharing about your own experience. It is interesting to see how much of the appeal of paganism comes from aspects that are not represented well in mainstream religion, like the feminine divine, nature, and the paranormal. It is totally why I was drawn to it originally. I will enjoy reading your blog I think.

Leave a Reply

