Wiccan Friend

Just your friendly neighborhood Witch. Thoughts on Wicca, Witchcraft, Tarot, and Paganism today.

My meeting with a High Priest and High Priestess

Friday turned out to be just a crazy good day.  My business made a good deal of money, I got a lot of work done, and after work went to a meeting with the HPS and HP of a coven named Rose Hollow.  Amber and Eric were such a nice surprise.  I really did go into this meeting with no expectations and was just glad to meet a fellow pagan.

My wife and I are currently looking for a Wicca 101 class.  We are at the point in our lives where we are craving some religious structure and find it hard to find that on our own.  We also are looking for pagan friends.  Our experience with having non-pagan friends has not turned out good so far, but that is a whole other post.

So, in the rain and through busy Dallas rush hour traffic we drove to a Starbucks and made a connection.  It is weird but afterwards I discovered that I might just have a prejudice against pagans.  I know this because I was so relieved that that Amber and Eric were normal and truly down to earth people.  I don’t know exactly what I was so surprised by but I remember thinking afterwards just how cool and honest they seemed.  It was also refreshing to hear that a Pagan group is active in the community.  Rose Hollow appearently does a good deal of charity for the area.  The HPS even told this story how they donated to a local church that they knew needed help with their coat and blanket drive recently.  In my head I am saying to myself, “Woah, that takes a real want to help someone,” but in actuality I just tried to play it cool.  I didn’t want to seem overly eager to be apart of this coven.  I have to keep reminding myself to hold back and be objective, but  I know that these guys are a good fit because of something I learned from the real estate business.  If during the visit to a property the potential buyers are already making plans and envisioning themselves in the property then they have already made a decision.  In my head I could already see myself banging a drum at ritual and think about what I was going to wear.

The initial meeting turned out well and we were invited to their Imbolc ritual here in February.  We are excited to get to know the rest of the coven.  I know even though I could get along with the HP and HPS that it is important that I get to know the rest of the Coven before making any definite decisions.  So far, so good.

3 responses to “My meeting with a High Priest and High Priestess

  1. moogielikesart January 18, 2010 at 10:51 am

    Glad to hear your meeting went well. =) It’s good to keep a level head in these instances. You really don’t know how you work with others until you try. And if the High Priest and High Priestess find you aren’t an appropriate fit, they can refer you to another group or coven who may be in need of you. =)
    And it’s really awesome to hear of Pagans who are involved in their community. I would love to be active in charities, but… well, enough on my plate as it is, without organizing such things. I’ll get there eventually.
    Hope you enjoy the Imbolc ritual! I went to a friend’s house yesterday and a bunch of us worked together to plan for Imbolc. I just might post the ritual on my blog, because in my opinion, we came up with something pretty unique.

Leave a Reply

